Profile Page

Joseph Murphy

Departments and Positions:
Vanderbilt University, Associate Dean for Special Projects
Muskingum College, New Concord, Ohio, Bachelor of Arts, 1971
The University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois, M.S.T., 1974
Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, Doctorate, 1980

Joseph Murphy is the Frank W. Mayborn Chair of Education and Associate Dean at Peabody College of Education of Vanderbilt University. He has also been a faculty member at the University of Illinois and The Ohio State University, where he was the William Ray Flesher Professor of Education. In the public schools, he has served as an administrator at the school, district, and state levels. His most recent appointment was as the founding President of the Ohio Principals Leadership Academy. He is a past Vice President of AERA. He was the founding Chair (1994-2004) of the Interstate School Leaders Licensure Consortium (ISLLC). Dr. Murphy is the co-editor of the AERA Handbook of Research on Education Administration (1999) and editor of the National Society for the Study of Education (NSSE) yearbook The Educational Leadership Challenge (2002). His work is in the area of school improvement, with special emphasis on leadership and policy. He has authored or co-authored 20 books in this area and edited another 12. Dr. Murphy directed the development of the ISLLC Standards for School Leaders and chaired the research panel that produced the revisions to those standards—ISLLC: 2008. He led the CCSSO team that developed the specifications with ETS for the School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA). He is also one of the four co-creators of the Vanderbilt Assessment of Leadership in Education (VAL-ED).